Alabama takes DUI offenses very seriously. A person may be charged with a DUI if an officer reasonably believes there is probable cause that the person was in actual physical control of a vehicle while:
· he has BAC of 0.08% or higher;
· under the influence of alcohol;
· under the influence of a controlled substance;
· under the combined influence of alcohol and a controlled substance, or
· under the influence of any substance which impairs mental or physical faculties.
Note that the law does not require the person to be driving the vehicle; to be charged with a DUI, a person must only be in physical control of a vehicle. This means you could be charged with a DUI if you are asleep in, or simply sitting in, your car. Notice also that DUI charges are not limited to drunk individuals—you must only be under the influence of something that impairs your ability to mentally or physically function. This could apply to prescription or even over the counter medication.
If you’re charged with a DUI, it’s important to take action before the charge becomes a conviction. If you’re convicted of a DUI, you could face imprisonment of up to a year, a $500-2,000 fine, and a mandatory 90-day license suspension. The penalties increase for each subsequent conviction.
The help of an experienced attorney is key, because the complexities of Alabama DUI law make it so particular circumstances can change the outcome of your case. It’s helpful to have an attorney who understands which facts of your case to emphasize in order to mitigate the consequences.
Reid Law Firm understands the struggles our clients face both legally and within their community. We work hard to review all of the facts behind your arrest and assess the likelihood of your conviction. We will never give you false hope. No matter how serious the offense, we will work to help you obtain the best possible outcome to your case.